Home » News » Finalists get set for their big night

Finalists get set for their big night

Finalists have been announced and the countdown has begun as apprentices and employers gear up for Learning Unlimited’s National Apprentice Awards, which are now just days away.

The winning names will be unveiled on Thursday (22 December) during the ceremony at Pond’s Forge in Sheffield, which is being compered by TV personality and journalist, Helen Fospero.

The awards will celebrate the work, dedication and commitment of employers, individuals and apprentices, who have been chosen from hundreds of nominations received from peers, managers and staff at Learning Unlimited.

“We’re looking forward to bringing everyone together for an evening of celebration,” said Mark Bennington, Vice Principal of Commercial Services and Enterprise with The Chesterfield College Group. “It will be the perfect opportunity to recognise the amazing achievements made by apprentices and businesses. It’s also a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the successes of the past year with colleagues and also network with other businesses.”

Learning Unlimited gets set for National Apprenticeship Awards
Learning Unlimited gets set for National Apprenticeship Awards.

Finalists are:

Newcomer of the Year (sponsored by the Heathcotes Group) – Briggs of Burton, Bumbles Day Nursery, and Tameside Radio.

Investment in Apprentices (sponsored by The Lilypad Café and Restaurant) – MVIS, Read Roper Read, Accrofab, and Alphaweld.

Partner of the Year – Slack and Parr, NTAR, Tulip Ltd, and Bakers, Food and Allied Workers’ Union.

Small Employer of the Year – Sherwood Electronics, DOR Electrical, and Wilson Howe.

Medium Employer of the Year – Ashgate Hospicecare, Refresco, and Graphoidal Developments Ltd.

Large Employer of the Year – Heathcotes, Bombardier, and Tarmac.

Outstanding Contribution to Delivery (sponsored by Skills & Education Group) – Jennifer Dyke, Stef Monks, Helen Payne, Mark Dixon, Fliss Shaw, Jonathan Price, Martin Thomas, James Lund, Wendy Taylor, and Kate Barker.

Intermediate Apprentice of the Year (sponsored by Looks Salon) – Jessie Lambkin (David Mason Design), Tillie Wooliscroft (MVIS), and Jake Banton (Bombardier).

Advanced Apprentice of the Year – Luke Bunting (Bombardier), George Sheldon (MVIS), and Polly Oakes (Fifteen).

Higher Apprentice of the Year – James Marshall (Royal Mail), James Bateman (Derbyshire Constabulary), and  Cameron Landa (Bombardier).

Dedication to Apprenticeship – Liam Quinby (Bombardier), Sian Jones (Royal Mail), and Amy Flint (Blackwell Primary School)

Apprentice of the Year (sponsored by Bombardier) – will be announced on Thursday.